Skip to content

Binge

November 20, 2009

I’ve heard that a major problem with certain types of dieting is that when you stray from the diet you often stray very thoroughly, indulging in quite a bit that you shouldn’t.

My crafting diet has been circumstantial, not intentional, but I’m afraid that I’ve indulged in a knitting binge.

Last weekend’s knitting binge was about rewarding myself. I had some major deadlines in addition to student conferences over the course of the week, so I felt like I needed to relax with some knitting.

This week’s binge has been because knitting is all that I’ve been able to do. I’ve been on the verge of getting very sick all week. One of my office mates has succumbed to something suspiciously similar, and I’m trying to take care of myself so that I don’t get to that point.  I’m feeling well enough that I can’t justify missing out on any of my classes, etc. but sick enough that I haven’t accomplished anything beyond the essentials. This means that, despite the stack of papers awaiting grades, I’ve been spending a lot of time watching television and knitting. If it weren’t for the guilt it would be wonderful!

I’ve been knitting on quite a few different projects, so I’ll just show you what I’ve finished.

My iPhone case has been nearly complete for a while now, but I stalled when it came to sewing up the seams. When I finally did do the sewing, I decided to live dangerously and not pin before sewing. This gave me the angular result that you can see in the photos, which I like and decided to leave alone.


I also added in the sweet pewter button for embellishment. As you can see, I already have a protective case for my phone. However, I wanted something to protect it from scratches and to keep my headphones nearby.

Pattern: the best iPhone cozy EVER
Yarn: 1/2 skein Queensland Collection Bamboo Cotton #01
Needles: US 1 dpns
Made for: my iPhone
Timeline: October 12-November 14 2009
Modifications: angled pocket, added button
Worst Part: beginning. This probably would have been easier on two circs.
Best Part: keeping my new toy safe and stylish!

I’ve also just finished the Socktoberfest Mystery Sock in fall colors. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this yet, but Sweetie picked out the yarn for these socks. I was excited to cast on but couldn’t make it to the yarn shop. I told him to stop in on his way to work and pick up some sock yarn that looked like fall.

I had so much fun knitting these socks. Mystery socks are always a blast, and this was a particularly enjoyable pattern.

Pattern: Mystery Sock ’09 by Kirsten of Through the Loops!
Yarn: Colinette Jitterbug #149 Windfall
Needles: US 1 Susan Bates dpns
Made for: Me
Timeline: October 8-November 18 2009
Modifications: None
Worst Part: I can’t say there was one.
Best Part: The toes. I love the way the leaf angles in to form the toe of the sock.

Since I still haven’t recovered, I’m sure there will be much more knitting to come. I’m almost finished with some secret contract knitting that I’ve been working on, and I’ve also picked up both Sweetie’s Dale of Norway and my Whisper cardigan again. Don’t tell Sweetie, but I’m hoping to work on his Dale secretly while he’s at work and surprise him with the finished product.

I think I’ll turn back to my knitting and film du jour. Send some good health vibes my way!

Leave a Reply

