Skip to content

A Lillie for Her Niece

December 27, 2009

Last spring, a close friend of mine wanted to learn how to knit. Her sister was expecting a baby girl, so she decided to knit a sweater for her future niece. She caught on very quickly, but eventually became frustrated with the project. She was going through a lot of big life changes, so it wasn’t the best time to take up a new hobby.

Before moving to another state for graduate school, she gave me the unfinished project to do with as I pleased. Of course, I decided to knit up the sweater as originally intended. If we’re lucky, it may still fit my friend’s niece.

After knitting intermittently for a few months, I topped the sweater off with what are possibly the most adorable buttons ever.

Pattern: Lillie’s Little Sweater by Carolyn Anderson and Joan DeBolt of Cottage Creations
Yarn: 1 3/4 balls of Plymouth Encore Worsted 7115
Needles: US 7 bamboo circulars and dpns
Made for: my friend’s niece
Timeline: August 14-December 26 2009
Modifications: none
Worst Part: the acrylic content of this yarn-I think I’ve become a complete yarn snob!
Best Part: the buttons

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2009 7:08 pm

    Hahaha I LOVE the buttons!! So adorable!!!

  2. December 29, 2009 9:53 am

    Did you find the buttons at Yarn Harbor? I’m looking for some to top off a baby sweater and those are adorable!

Leave a Reply

