Skip to content

Sharks vs. Gnomes

January 8, 2010

We’re back from our trip to visit family. All in all, we saw both immediate families, two sets of grandparents, one aunt, three cousins, and a whole lot of animals. We also managed to visit quite a few restaurants and stores that Sweetie and I don’t have where we live.

Of course, we exchanged plenty of gifts on our trip. Highlights were a heated mattress pad for me (no more chilly bed when I go to sleep early!) and an antique Kermit the Frog for Sweetie that he adores.

Back in October, my 18-year old sister sent me the following email:

THESE ARE THE MOST AMAZING MITTENS I’VE EVER SEEN.  CAN YOU MAKE THESE MITTENS?  http://modcloth.com/store/ModCloth/Womens/Accessories/Gloves/Menagerie+Mittens+in+Smiley+Shark

Love,

Your favorite sister.

Of course I had to make them!

The pattern that I used was released shortly afterwords, and I chose yarn that was both soft and shiny to look like the sharks were wet.

She makes the sharks swim as she walks and has, I’m told, deemed them ‘the best Christmas present ever.’ By the way, this photo shoot took place at the MN Zoo dolphin tank, where we made a dolphin friend that thought it was funny to splash us.

Pattern: Deep Blue Sea by Breeanna Sveum
Yarn: Plymouth Mulberry Merino: nearly 2 #5363 and less than 1/2 #2060
Needles: US 6 dpns
Made for: my sister
Timeline: December 6 2009-January 4 2010
Modifications: minor adjustments throughout that I can’t remember
Worst Part: assembly
Best Part: her appreciation–she’ll be getting many more knits from me

Both of the moms got gnomes this year. I had thought about making them last year, but this year turned out to be perfect after my mom admired all of the felted creatures in the LYS near her.

These were a pleasure to knit and were a huge hit with the moms. It was also nice to make them because the pattern was designed by someone who teaches at my LYS.

Pattern: Christmas Gnome by Irina Haller
Yarn: large gnome kits from Yarn Harbor
Needles: US 2 16″ circulars and dpns
Made for: Mom and MIL
Timeline: December 30 2009-January 4 2010
Modifications: none
Worst Part: knitting under a deadline unexpectedly (being called in to work cut into my gift knitting time)
Best Part: how full of character these little guys are

I have another week and a half of winter break, and then it’s back to work for me. I’m beginning to feel as though I have so much to get done before classes resume and so little time in which to do it! Hopefully I can knock out a few more UFOs before life gets busy again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 8:49 am

    My only regret on the sharks is that I did not get to see them before they were delivered. They are wonderful!

  2. Red's Mom permalink
    January 21, 2010 9:58 pm

    Not that it’s a competition or anything, but my gnome’s definitely cuter!!!

Leave a Reply

