Skip to content

Deer Hunting Surprise

January 11, 2010

Caution! The following content may not be appropriate for all readers.

One of my bosses, an avid deer hunter, has been asking for a blaze orange hat for some time now. Little did he know that I’ve had this particular pattern in mind for him for an even longer time!

Apparently my boss’ lucky hunting shirt lost all of its luck when he wore it to find out the sex of his first child. Here’s hoping that this hat can bring him some luck in the deer stand.

This hat just wasn’t complete until I added the biggest pom pom that I could possibly make.

Sweetie and I are giving this hat to him after work on Friday. We can’t wait to see his reaction!

Pattern: Fornicating Deer Chart by Anne Rutten and the Earflap Hat Pattern Generator
Yarn: Dale of Norway Falk: 1.8 balls #3309 and 1 ball #0090
Needles: Addi Turbo 16″ US 2.5 circulars
Made for: boss
Timeline: December 26 2009-January 10 2010
Modifications: pattern was a hodgepodge
Worst Part: getting the hem to sit nicely
Best Part: her appreciation–she’ll be getting many more knits from me

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 9:28 pm

    Please tell me this hat is for Jamin…

  2. Molly permalink
    January 12, 2010 1:04 pm

    This is amazing. I’ve seen the chart but no really good applications… until now.

Leave a Reply

