Skip to content

Coming (Very) Soon

January 18, 2010

I’ve long had an inclination that I believe many other knitters share with me. If a baby comes into the world someplace near me, I must knit something for said baby. Apparently nine months goes by fairly quickly, as it seems like just yesterday that we found out a friend’s wife was expecting, and now she’s scheduled for a C-section at the end of the week!

I hadn’t even thought about what I might knit for this baby, so I spent my day at the yarn shop pondering what to make the new little girl. It had to be something feminine and sweet, but nothing too complicated since the baby is coming so soon. I looked through just about every baby pattern that we have and decided to go with a classic.


I’ve loved the Baby Sweater on Two Needles, better known as the February Baby Sweater, from Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Knitter’s Almanac for a long time. It’s high time I knit one! I’ve also considered making myself a February Lady Sweater, so this baby sweater will be a good trial run of the pattern.

For as enthusiastic as I am about knitting, I’ve read and knit relatively little of Elizabeth Zimmerman’s work. I’m going to take this opportunity to remedy that and read through this book, which has been on my shelf for a while now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 6:16 pm

    It is a dandy. And like potato chips, it is hard to stop at one.

  2. January 25, 2010 9:25 pm

    I love the Gull Wing Sweater! The Baby Surprise jacket is also a nice baby present. For a first one, however, I’d look at the DVD. I needed the visual cues to get started.

Leave a Reply

