Skip to content

Covet Wednesdays: Olympic Possibilities

January 28, 2010

Apologies for posting this late: I had some technical difficulties at home last night. Unfortunately, this also means no photos today, but there are links to much better photos than the ones that I take!

The Ravelympics/Knitting Olympics are coming up fast. For those of you who haven’t heard of this event, it’s a personal challenge in which one chooses a project to make between opening ceremonies and the time that the torch goes out.

I’ve waited until now to bring up my Olympic project because I was waiting for syllabi to see how that part of my semester would shape up. Aside from the usual classwork, the only major work I’ll have to do is grade a round of papers. Fortunately, this particular paper isn’t one of the ones that takes me approximately an hour per student to grade!

With this kind of time allowance, I feel like I could pick just about any project. It has to be something challenging, as last Olympics I knit Eunny Jang’s Ivy League vest, an entirely stranded project out of fingering weight yarn. I want a project for this Olympics that measures up to my last project while still acknowledging that this time I’m in graduate school instead of on summer break.

Here are the contenders:

Freyja Sweater: This sweater is knit in the round with very little finishing work in sport weight yarn. Outside of the colorwork on the yoke, the sweater is knit in stockinette stitch. This sweater seems very do-able as long as I’m able to keep interest through the stockinette portions.

Stilwell: This sweater is worked seamlessly in the round with very little finishing work in worsted weight yarn. It provides more interest than Freyja, as there are stitches beyond stockinette and there’s more colorwork. The larger gauge and small amount of finishing work are making me feel pretty confident about this project.

Little Birds: This sweater is worked nearly seamlessly in the round with somewhat more finishing work (read: steeks!) in fingering weight yarn. There’s colorwork throughout the bulk of the design. This would definitely be the most challenging of the projects because of the fine gauge and large amount of ribbing, but I think it could still be doable.

I’ve been looking at all of the projects and comments for these patterns on Ravelry and really can’t make up my mind. In fact, I think I’m even more convinced that I eventually need to knit all three of these sweaters!

Help me out: click the links to take a look at the designs and then cast your vote in the comments. If you like, tell me why you voted like you did.

Thanks in advance for your help. I really need it!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    January 28, 2010 5:43 pm

    My vote is for Freyja sweater, mainly because it is one that has also caught my eye and I have been toying with knitting also. I also like Stilwel, but it is a little boxy looking. Although, it would definitely be appropriate for the area.

  2. January 29, 2010 7:27 am

    I’ve always loved Freyja, but for a challenge, I can see why you’d choose Little Birds. But I’d lose the buttons – they don’t add to the design in my mind.

    Final decision – Freyja.

  3. January 29, 2010 4:23 pm

    I love the Freyja- it’s in my line of “to-do” as well. I have to admit, I think you would look really cute in the “Little Birds” if you wanted a challenge. Just a thought. 🙂

    • Heather-Marie & Nicole permalink
      January 30, 2010 12:07 am

      We vote for the Stilwell sweater! We liked the look/pattern of the Little Birds except for the little birds- maybe Olympic medals instead? Just kidding.

  4. Amy permalink
    January 30, 2010 8:12 am

    I vote Stilwell. I love the colorwork on the yolk & waist. They all would look great on you!

  5. JennaKate permalink
    January 31, 2010 9:00 am

    Freyja! Its really cute and delicate, and I think it would look great on you. Stilwell seems a little chunky looking, not as delicate. My friend Katie (Katiedid on Rav) made Little Birds, and it is really cute in person too.

  6. Kathy permalink
    January 31, 2010 3:16 pm

    I think the Freyja Sweater totally looks like you but love the stilwell.
    I do think you would be sleep deprived if you bit the blue bird. So… #1 Freyja #2 Stilwell
    #3 Little Birds

Leave a Reply

