Skip to content

Covet Wednesdays: Debbie Bliss, Stilwell, and the Ravelympics

February 3, 2010

The votes (both online and in person) are in, and the winner is Stilwell from Made in Brooklyn! Sweetie is disappointed that I’m not knitting Little Birds, but Stilwell won by a landslide and is much more doable. I’ve made him feel better by telling him that the next sweater I cast on will be Little Birds.


This sweater will be a culmination of a few knitterly things I’ve been coveting.

First, of course, there’s the pattern. I queued this sweater back when the booklet came out in the fall. I don’t necessarily think that this is the most versatile of the sweaters that I looked at for the Olympics, as it’s a bit more casual than what I normally wear when teaching. However, I’m looking forward to having a sweater that’s both wonderfully comfortable and looks nice enough for “student days” or work at the LYS. I also think this sweater should be just right in terms of knitting: a little colorwork, some stockinette sections, and a little finishing work but not too much. It should keep me interested but not be overwhelming.

Second, I’ve been coveting this yarn for a very long time. I’ll be using Debbie Bliss Donegal Luxury Tweed in Scarlet for the main color and Natural for the contrast color. This yarn has a wonderful feel to it when knit up. In fact, when a cute sample sweater came to the LYS in exactly my size I really wanted to take it home with me. I had to settle for modeling it around the shop, so I’m excited to have a sweater out of this yarn to call my own.

All in all, this project should be a real treat. I picked up some of my yarn today so that I can swatch and then I’ll take a look at the numbers in the pattern to see if I need to adjust the fit at all to suit me.

I also want to finish up a couple of projects that are very near completion before the big Olympic kick-off next Friday night. More about that later.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

