Skip to content

Covet Wednesdays: Vancouver Dale of Norway

February 24, 2010

My LYS is fortunate enough to host the Dale of Norway’s Vancouver Olympic trunk show over the course of the Games. I have to admit to finding these designs generally disappointing in the context of Dale’s fantastic history of Olympic designs. However, the more I looked at the sweaters, the more I began to admire them and wonder if they would be worth slogging through miles of stockinette to complete.

I tried on both versions of the Women’s V-Neck Pullover at the shop on Sunday.

This is a size XS in the cover colorway. I think this would be a good size for me to knit if I added an inch or so to the sleeve length. This brings me to one reason I’m attracted to this pattern. It’s an Olympic ski sweater, but it Dale of Norway has created sizes that work for a smaller woman like me: I’d be swimming in the smallest size of their traditional ski sweaters!

This is a size S in the blue colorway. When I tried this one on in the store I thought that it fit me better, but now that I look at the photo I think that I was probably just more comfortable with the sleeve length, as otherwise it seems to be too big on me. This colorway doesn’t seem to be doing me any favors, but I don’t know how I feel about the more “classic” colorway above.

I’m really loving the almost shawl collar in this design. I think it’s more “ski lodge” than “ski slopes,” which reflects my personality. I’d much rather sit by the fireplace with some hot cocoa and a book or knitting than hit the slopes all day.

What do you think? Is this a cute enough sweater to make a whole lot of plain stockinette stitch worthwhile? If so, which colorway do you prefer?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    February 24, 2010 10:12 pm

    I definitely like the fit and coloring of the top sweater better on you. And yes, it does need longer sleeves! But maybe if you just pulled the shoulders/neckline forward a bit on the other sweater…..sorry….my Style Revue maternal instincts are kicking in!

  2. February 25, 2010 6:38 am

    I agree with your Mom- first sweater all the way, but needs longer sleeves. The blue is pretty, but I like green on you too 😉

Leave a Reply

