Skip to content

No Lions Here!

March 9, 2010

I’m guessing that, if anything, March will go out like a lion this year. We’re having some unseasonably warm weather that’s melted much of the ice that had accumulated.

This weekend was fantastic for knitting. First, I had decided to enroll in an Estonian lace class as a pick-me-up for my usual spring mood. We have a choice of three patterns designed by the instructor and I’ve chosen to do the sampler. Here you can see my progress on the ‘Sylvia’ portion of the design.
I find that lace goes really quickly for me–much faster than juggling stitches in cabling or juggling colors in stranding. After such fun at the class, it was difficult to resist the siren song of lace to grade papers that evening. In fact, in the midst of all this lace excitement I’ve started another lace project, but it’s top secret!

Sunday was fairly slow at the shop, so I made quite a bit of progress on Sweetie’s Olympic hat.
I adore knitting with this yarn, but I’m also excited to finish this project because I’m curious to see how it will turn out with all of my modifications. So far, it’s looking pretty darn good.

The knitting may be a bit scattered for a while. Some secret knitting is taking priority, but I also want to finish the Olympic hat soon enough that Sweetie can actually wear it. I’m also looking forward to a Skew knitalong in the near future as well as hankering for some sweater knitting!

For now, however, I’m working on school projects. Duty calls.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

