Skip to content

Olympic 2010 Reindeer Hat

April 23, 2010

When I saw Team USA’s awesome knit hats at the 2010 Olympic Opening Ceremonies, I knew that I had to make one. Luckily, much of the legwork had already been done for me in Helena Bristow’s Olympic Reindeer Hat (rav link). I wanted to make my version in sport weight yarn, so I made several modifications to the pattern.

My gauge was 7 stitches and 9 rows to the inch, so I began by casting on 140 stitches. I knit for 14 rounds and then worked a purled turning round. I decided not to incorporate the flag patch, so I worked the hem pattern by repeating the first 10 stitches around. I wanted to center the pattern with the reindeer, so my round began with stitch 3.

Once I got to the reindeer portion of the chart I had to account for my extra stitches, so I added in a tree on either side that was 16 stitches by 19 rows.

I also had to work the decreases a bit differently. I split the stitches into five sections with 28 stitches in each. I charted it out accordingly (don’t ask for the chart–it’s on a scrap of paper) with some reference to the pattern and worked centered decreases (slip 2 together, knit 1, pass slipped stitches over).I topped it off with a braid of blue.

This blog post includes all of the adjustments that I remember making/have notes for. If you want to imitate my version of the hat, you’re welcome to email me with questions, but don’t get your hopes up for a specific answer šŸ™‚

Pattern: A conglomeration of the Olympic Reindeer Hat by Helena Bristow and my own mathematical skills
Yarn: Classic Elite Yarns ‘Fresco’: .6 skein #5310 (blue), .6 skein #5301 (white), and .12 skein #5355 (red)
Needles: US 1 and 2 16ā€³ circular Addi Turbos
Made for: Sweetie
Timeline: February 28-April 17, 2010
Modifications: see above!
Worst Part: the maths
Best Part: imitating a really neat store knit

By the way, I finished my shrug. It’s cute. Pictures forthcoming.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chris Covaleski permalink
    May 7, 2010 9:26 am

    I like your pattern. I just found this and want to make it, can you give me the rest of your pattern? I found one but do not want the flag. Can you help?

Leave a Reply

