Skip to content

Let’s return to regular blogging, shall we?

May 11, 2010

I’m finished with all of my student stuff for the semester. The papers have been turned in, the final classes have been attended, and the solitary final exam has been written. All that’s left is the teacher stuff, namely grading final papers and final exams. *sigh of relaxation*

Needless to say, I’ve been knitting as much as possible since I turned in my last paper and could knit without guilt. After I finished teaching my last class of the year on Friday, Katie and I picked out yarn for Vivian cardigans and cast on over coffee.

I’m loving it so far! (Despite the same problem photographing the color accurately as I had with Liesl). We’ve both been looking forward to knitting this sweater for a long time, so it seemed like the perfect treat at the end of the semester.

I also cast on Elizabeth Zimmerman’s May Norwegian mittens this weekend. I’m offering a class on this pattern in June, so it was time to get cracking on the sample pair. I love how the color combination I selected was turning out:

You’ll notice my use of the past tense up there. Yeah…I had assumed that since I was able to get the same gauge that this pattern calls for on my Dale of Norway sweater with 2s, I would be able to do the same here. Apparently that logic doesn’t work, as I ended up with 8 sts/in instead of 6.

I tried to ‘just work with it,’ but they were ending up much too small. There was nothing to do but…

And then…


I cast on again with size 3s and things seem to be going well so far. That is, they’re going well aside from the kinky yarn that makes my mittens look like I can’t knit colorwork with proper tension–here’s hoping that blocks out.

I believe I owe you a few FO posts, but those will have to wait until I can get Sweetie to do some photoshoots.

Happy summer to all of you academics out there!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 5:55 pm

    I like it so far! I haven’t gotten very far yet- is the stitch count working all right for the back cables we added?
    PS- Sorry about the pic. I owe you one really bad pic of me on your blog.

Leave a Reply

