Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings

June 14, 2010
tags:

This weekend Sweetie and I went to visit his grandparents in the tiny town of Vining, MN. We both worked in the morning, so by the time we arrived after our long drive it was nearly time for bed. The next morning we visited Prairie Needles yarn shop in Battle Lake. This was the only thing that I really wanted to do on our trip, and I found some great stuff while we were there:
Clockwise from top: Dream in Color Smooshy in Blue Lagoon, US 0 square dpns by Kollage, Claudia Hand Painted Yarns Fingering in Ink, and Malabrigo Sock in Indiecita. I haven’t tried any of these sock yarns before, and I’ve heard wonderful things about all of them. However, I doubt that all of them will end up as socks–they’re just too pretty to wear on my feet! Perhaps some of them are destined for scarves or shawls.

Sweetie and his sister were able to get in some fishing on Saturday afternoon and managed to catch three fish. We kids went bowling on Saturday night and had the place to ourselves. We were even able to control the music in the bowling alley. We had a ton of fun and got to see some friends that we may not have seen since the last wedding. Oh, and at one point I got two strikes in a row!

Sunday morning began with a small town Lutheran service followed by a large breakfast. We then visited the shop of Ken Nyberg, who creates massive sculptures out of scrap metal. Here’s Sweetie standing underneath the giraffe located right outside of the shop:

We then visited a relative’s antique shop where I found some vintage jewelry and these buttons, which I hope to use on some shirt or sweater projects in the future:

We then meandered home, taking a break around the halfway point for Sweetie’s favorite sport:
Mini golf! This was a great course with lots of water traps. I’m ashamed to say that Sweetie won, but we had a great time and actually stayed pretty close in score throughout the game.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 8:45 pm

    Oh, such pretty yarn! I love sock yarn. Even if it doesn’t turn into socks. 🙂

  2. kateohkatie permalink
    June 15, 2010 6:38 am

    That looks superfun! I’d love to visit that shop sometime, and I bet Jeff would even be OK with it as long as we stopped at the minigolf place too (he’s a big fan :-D)

  3. ladykay permalink
    June 20, 2010 7:59 pm

    The yarn is beautiful. On a non-knitting note, I think I’ve been to that golf course. 18 holes with a witty message on each sign?

Leave a Reply

