Skip to content

The Knitalongs Abound

June 16, 2010

I seem to have three different knitalongs going on right now: the Skew socks, Vivian cardigan, and Echo Flower shawl. However, I’m afraid that two of them are on hold.

Skew kind of got left behind when both of us got frustrated for different reasons. I picked up this project again during the drive this weekend and made good progress until I ended up with the wrong number of stitches at the “origami moment.” After poking around on ravelry, it doesn’t look like anyone else has had this problem, so I’ll have to find a decent chunk of quiet time to figure out where I went wrong.

Vivian has been set aside for the very opposite reason: I was making a bit too much progress. I’m letting it sit for a little while to give my KAL partner some time to catch up (quote: “don’t you have any other projects you can work on for a while?”). Which, of course, would be much easier if she would stop casting on other projects! 😉

That leaves the Echo Flowers shawl.
We cast on for this project last Monday and have kept very good pace with each other since then. We’re both nearing the end of the border chart, so I imagine it won’t be long until both of us have finished. I’m looking forward to seeing the two shawls side by side, as we’re using vastly different yarns. Hers is a true laceweight in a jade colored silk, whereas mine is nearly a fingering weight royal purple merino. I’ve also learned from my mistake in last summer’s lace KAL and set aside an extra skein of this yarn, so I won’t be held up waiting for an emergency skein to arrive!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 2:03 pm

    Hahaha… oops…

Leave a Reply

