Skip to content

Purple and Finished

July 12, 2010

I seem to be in a purple mood lately, as I have two finished projects to show you and they’re both purple.

I knit the Echo Flowers shoulderette as part of a summer lace knitalong. I had a great time with this project and feel like I really need to get another serious lace project on the needles. Unfortunately, other projects are calling me at the moment.
My Aeolian shawl was also knit out of Ella Rae Lace Merino, and I love the feel of this yarn for a year-round shawl. I would make another shawl out of this yarn in a heartbeat!
Pattern: Echo Flower Shawl by Jenny Johnson Johnen
Yarn: 1 skein Ella Rae Lace Merino #7
Needles: US 5 Addi Lace needles
Made for: Me
Timeline: June 7-July 7, 2010
Modifications: None
Worst Part: the 3 into 9 stitches in the flower chart
Best Part: knitting along with a great partner

This February Baby Sweater is the last of my class sample knits for the season. It’s already drawing some attention around the shop–I think we’re going to have a great class in honor of EZ’s 100th birthday.

Pattern: Baby Sweater on Two Needles from Knitter’s Almanac by Elizabeth Zimmerman
Yarn: 2.25 skeins Sirdar Baby Bamboo Snuggly #136
Needles: US 4
Made for: Class sample
Timeline: July 5-11, 2010
Modifications: see my past posts about this project in the early 2010 archives
Worst Part: working the sleeves flat: I like them better in the round
Best Part: trying a slightly different variation of the pattern

Pattern: Two-Tone Ribbed Shrug in Fitted Knits by Stefanie Japel
Yarn: 1.3 skeins Cascade 220 Quatro #5014
Needles: US 8 and 5
Made for: Me
Timeline: April 18-22, 2010
Modifications: I made my sleeves 4” long from the underarm: 2” stockinette and 2” ribbing. I could have made them longer and still gotten the above-the-elbow look I wanted.
Worst Part: someone spilled red wine on it at the party :(
Best Part: being able to quickly whip up something new for my birthday
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Charlotte Olson permalink
    July 14, 2010 11:09 am

    So Beautiful and delicate looking! Besides they are my mom’s favorite color (“any color as long as it’s purple”)

Trackbacks

  1. Me-Made-May ’14: You’re Doing It Wrong | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

