Skip to content

Itty Bitty Caps for Caleb

July 23, 2010

Shortly after making six flap caps to donate to Caps for Caleb, I learned that my hats were earning some big donations for the cause. As far as I was concerned, that meant I needed to make some more hats. I dug through my stash, pulled out Itty Bitty Hats, and came up with a few little hats.
The Marshmallow Bonnet from Itty Bitty Hats out of Lion Brand Microspun.

Candy Cane from Itty Bitty Hats out of Sirdar Snuggly Baby Bamboo DK (modeled by a ball of yarn–thanks, J!).

Some more Little Flap Caps (Cabin Fever #109) with a stripe instead of stranded pattern out of Brown Sheep NatureSpun Worsted. These are in University of Minnesota Duluth colors, so I’m hoping that they’ll catch an alum’s eye.

As I was digging through my little stash of yarn, I noticed a few skeins of yarn that could work really well for gift knitting this year. I may have to investigate further…

I also took a little time this week to mock up what will become a basic navy blouse (Butterick 4985).
I love the style of this blouse! The sleeves are really cute, and the finished version will have a short collar with ties. However, I’m not so sure about the fit. I think it looks great from the front, and I plan to add about an inch of length so that the hem hits where the raw edge is hitting me right now. I can’t make up my mind about the back, though.
I don’t know if you can tell from this photo, but I’ve got quite a bit of extra room in the mid-back section. I’m not sure where and how much I’d like to take it in, as I’m not working with a stretch fabric and want some room to move. These decisions may have to wait until next weekend when my mom will be here visiting.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. kateohkatie permalink
    July 23, 2010 1:06 pm

    That top will be AMAZING, I can tell! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m no expert seamstress, but it seems like there wouldn’t be too much need for a *whole* lot of extra room in the mid-back, would there? Not as much as the shoulders or something, anyway? And those sleeves are FANTASTIC! Love it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. July 23, 2010 2:00 pm

    Probably just a little to create some shape? Love the sleeves! You’re making me miss draping…

  3. Rhonda Peterson permalink
    September 14, 2010 2:29 am

    A huge thank you for the darling hats for CAPS FOR CALEB Fundraising. They certainly captured large donations towards Caleb’s long hospitalization and eventual home care.

    It is because of knitters like you, giving selflessly to a little guy you don’t even know, that has made this fundraising campaign so much easier by delighting the donor with such a lovely gift for their donation.

    I have had the honor to meet so many wonderful knitters and crocheters that have not only supported the project but, at times, supported me as well.

    A big hug and thanks so much.

    Caleb’s grandmother (Rhonda Peterson)

  4. Rhonda Peterson permalink
    September 14, 2010 3:01 am

    Thank you so much for the beautiful hats donated to the CAPS FOR CALEB fundraiser.

    The hats campaign continues to help Caleb, and his family, through this long and difficult hospitalization. You have helped a little guy you have never met by offering your time and talent for his well being. This is truely selfless love and the family thanks you.

    Also, as a benefit, this fundraiser has tightly knit friendships between Caleb’s grandmother and her knitting/crocheting friends.

    Thanks so much for your contribution and the donations they received for Caleb.

    Rhonda Peterson (Caleb’s grandmother & knitter)

Leave a Reply

