Skip to content

Ready

July 24, 2010
tags:

Sweetie and I did some kitchen science this afternoon…
…and we’re pretty sure that it confirmed our hypothesis that my fabric is polyester. This is good, because it means that I can easily pre-shrink all of my fabric for this project at home.

Speaking of which, I think after my trip to Hancock this morning I have everything I need to put together this dress for the mid-August wedding.
I picked up lining material as well as all of the notions I needed. Once I pre-shrink the fabric I’ll be ready to get started. My expert-seamstress mom supports my living dangerously and skipping the muslin on this one. I rarely mocked up any of my competition sewing projects growing up, so I guess I’m not being too crazy. I just plan to add some length to the hem, as it looks like the dress might be shorter than I usually like.

I’m not-so-secretly hoping that this project goes really well, as I think the pattern would look great in a solid color too!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 4:40 pm

    Good luck! I didn’t muslin this one either, I just measured across the hips – my problem/widest area – and made sure there was enough room for my junk in the trunk, by cutting a size larger below the waist. (Did I already mention this to you, I forget…)

Trackbacks

  1. UFO Mondays: Which Dress? | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

