Skip to content

Washington County Fair

August 10, 2010

This Sunday brought an unexpected trip to the Washington County Fair, where I’ve spent summers since before I was born (that’s right, I was there in the womb!). I hadn’t gotten to visit in several years, and it was so much fun to be back where I spent so much time earlier.

I’ve now been out of 4-H for so long that I recognize very few current members, but I did get to see my young cousins, who are just beginning their time in 4-H.
The older of the two of them did a great job showing his calf, and I got to pet the calf in the barn!

My dad is in charge of motorsports at the fair, and he had organized a car show for the day that we stopped in, so I got to ride in this bad boy:
It doesn’t have much in the way of brakes, so Dad just slowed down and hollered when we got close to fairgoers.

Unfortunately, the reason for this trip wasn’t simply to have a great day at the fair. On Friday afternoon, a dear member of our 4-H community was killed in a motorcycle accident (read a really nice story about him here). He had been directing the 4-H Arts-In show “Thumbs Up,” and I needed to see the show that he had been working on as well as my 4-H family.
The kids did a great job putting on the show in the midst of an incredibly difficult time for all of them. I was so happy to see a show that had so much of Jake’s spirit in it, and I was glad that I got to give his best friend, who was also a director, a big hug.

As the great Elizabeth Zimmermann says, “Knit on, with confidence and hope through all crises.” I chose to start a new project in order to keep my mind from wandering into sadness during the long drive to visit the fair.
It’s Miralda’s Triangular Shawl from Knitted Lace of Estonia. This shawl has a rather rare construction, as it’s worked from the bottom up. Casting on over 300 stitches using the knitted cast-on certainly kept me occupied; it probably took half the trip down to the Cities to finish the cast on! I’m still working the first chart, as it’s slow going with so many stitches on the needles.

Miralda officially marks the beginning of my 2010 holiday knitting! I have more than usual planned for this holiday season, so I’m happy to get an early start.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

