Skip to content

Blessingway

November 11, 2010

This weekend we had a blessingway at my LYS for one of the Sunday knitters. Each of us brought a package of diapers so that she’ll be well-supplied, but I also wanted to bring a little something handmade.

“Lucy’s Kimono” from Weekend Sewing was the perfect project. It required very few supplies (I was even able to pick up the flannel for 50% off) and it probably only took me about 4 hours to make. It was a big success at the blessingway, and I think it will be a sweet way to keep the little one warm this winter.

I have to say, though, that I was disappointed with this pattern. The construction was a little odd, and made for imperfect finishing. You can still see that there’s some bunching around the underarms–I tried to fix it by clipping the seams, but it’s still visible. Next time I’ll be trying one of the many other baby kimono tutorials that are available in the hopes of finding something that makes me happier during the construction process.

P.S. I swear I’m still knitting all of the time, but sewing projects are so much quicker to finish!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

