Skip to content

Hats for the Ladies

January 2, 2011

Things have begun to settle down around here. The semester is over–all of the projects have been turned in and the final grades have been posted. The holidays are over–we’ve completed our trek around MN for Christmas and rang in the new year with a small gathering of dear friends. Perhaps best of all, I’ve submitted three out of my six applications to English Ph.D. programs. Revising my application material has been all-consuming, and I’m glad to take a break from it for a few days before gearing up to compile the final three.

All of this means that I can start showing you the holiday knitting. I’ll begin with my officemates, who all received hats as end-of-semester gifts.

For the officemate who wears a lot of black but also appreciates a good sparkle pen.

Pattern: Odessa by Grumperina
Yarn: 1 ball Nashua Handknits Grand Opera
Needles: US 4 & 6
Made for: KG
Timeline: September 12-December 4, 2010
Modifications: I may have made it a little shorter to get it out of the one ball of yarn that I had
Worst Part: the yarn! Plies were broken all over the place–my worst yarn experience to date!
Best Part: the sparkles

For the officemate who studies children’s literature and dresses with style and a bit of whimsy.

Pattern: Robin’s Egg Blue by Rachel Iufer
Yarn: less than 1 skein Malabrigo Chunky #55 Floral
Needles: US 10
Made for: AT
Timeline: November 8-12, 2010
Modifications: None
Worst Part: I don’t remember one
Best Part: finding the perfect button–it’s handmade ceramic

For the fashion-conscious officemate who’s been wearing a lot of berry and mauve tones this season.

Pattern: Brambles Beret by Amanda Muscha in Knitty Deep Fall 2010
Yarn: less than 1 skein Cascade 220 Heathers #4006
Needles: US 6
Made for: CZ
Timeline: November 21-25, 2010
Modifications: None, knit the medium-length version
Worst Part: trying to photograph this colorway and getting the slouch to look halfway-decent on a dummy head
Best Part: it happens to match her scarf perfectly!

That does it for the ladies. Stay tuned to see what I knit for the guys.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ladykay permalink
    January 2, 2011 12:58 pm

    And I love my sparkle hat! Thank you!

  2. Jes permalink
    January 10, 2011 8:08 pm

    These are lovely. You have such lucky office mates 🙂

Leave a Reply

