Skip to content

On my relationship with magic loop

January 23, 2011

I’ve finished the first clue of January’s knitalong, the toesies:


Knitting these toes has helped me to remember just how much I hate magic loop and toe-up sock knitting. I cast on these toes on Thursday and didn’t finish the increases until last night. For comparison, I had just finished the ribbing (which goes up much higher on the palm side) on this mitt yesterday morning, and here’s where I was after knitting through brunch and a movie:


It’s also knit with fingering weight yarn on small needles (in fact, I’m using a 0 for these and a 1 for the socks), but the dpns go so much faster for me! I may have to switch the socks over to dpns for the rest of the project if I ever want to complete them! I was hoping that I could use this knitalong as a chance to see what everyone else loves about magic loop (even though I’ve hated it the other times I’ve used it, too), but I just don’t think it’s my sock technique. Too much skooching around that long cable.

I don’t think I’ve introduced these mitts here before. I’m using Anne Hanson’s Curling pattern and have already made and given away the cowl. I’m knitting up the mitts out of the remainder of my skein of Malabrigo sock. A summer class on this pattern at Yarn Harbor is already in the works for Tuesday evenings in June–details forthcoming.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Charlotte Olson permalink
    January 23, 2011 10:48 pm

    Love the looks of these mitts! So pretty!

  2. Klamik permalink
    January 24, 2011 1:02 pm

    I completely agree about dpns! I’m making those Center of Attention socks and I didn’t even try any other way, I only make socks on dpns.. And I have to have my knitting on three needles. Four is too clumsy for me. I say switch over right away. They will knit up super fast. I’m making two pair!

Leave a Reply

