Skip to content

English Library Cabled Keyhole Scarf

February 20, 2011

cabled keyhole 1

I just love this little project! I thought that the pattern was great when Anne Hanson released it back in December, and I kept it in mind when planning my late spring/summer 2010 classes (watch for a class at Yarn Harbor in late May). I love it even more now that I’ve knit it, and I plan on knitting more of these little scarves for the gift basket.

cabled keyhole 2

I’ve also been admiring the yarn, Debbie Bliss Andes, since it showed up in the shop. It’s pure luxury, and I love that I was able to get this project out of a single skein. The only problem that I had was bleeding–my bamboo needles turned a bit pink while knitting, and it bled quite a bit when I soaked it. I’m hoping that I rinsed out all of the excess dye so that I don’t end up with a pink ring around my neck after wearing it today!
This scarf is named after its color. When it was blocking, I turned to Sweetie (an artist) and asked him what a more creative name than “red” would be for the colorway. He said that it looked like the color of an English library.
Pattern: Anne Hanson’s Cabled Keyhole Scarf, smaller size
Yarn: less than 1 skein of Debbie Bliss Andes #370008
Needles: US 6 clover bamboo. I wish I had used something pointier.
Made for: Shop sample/gift basket
Timeline: February 11-16, 2011
Modifications: None
Worst Part: the yarn bleeding
Best Part: everything else: this is one of those “potato chip” patterns that I’ll keep making again and again!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

