Skip to content

Finally: Socks!

March 1, 2011
tags:

I started these socks a reeeaaallly long time ago when I needed something simple to knit during a conference. Approximately a year and a half later, they’re finished and keeping my toes cozy.

009

The yarn was a gift from my in-laws a few Christmases ago, and I have it in two other colorways as well. I’m planning on doing another pair of these socks, which are based on a percentage system for a great fit, for Sweetie (eventually…).

I’m almost embarrassed that these plain vanilla socks took so long to complete, but this was a project that I picked up when appropriate and then set down for long periods of time. That’s not necessarily a bad thing as long as it gets finished eventually. Their completion is timely, though, since I recently discovered a massive hole in my favorite pair of socks.

Pattern: Top-to-Toe Crew Socks from Priscilla Gibson-Roberts’ Simple Socks, Plain and Fancy
Yarn: under 2 skeins Jo-Ann Sensations Soles & More #1138
Needles: US 0 and 1 Plymouth bamboo dpns
Made for: Me!
Timeline: August 31, 2009-February 25, 2011
Modifications: None
Worst Part: Taking so dern long to finish these!
Best Part: A new pair of handknit socks on my feet
One Comment leave one →
  1. Charlotte Olson permalink
    March 1, 2011 5:09 pm

    It’s okay. They’re kind of like a favorite book that you’ve read numerous times. You can set it down when there are other things going on, but then pick it up again and never really miss a beat. They’re really cute and look nice and warm.

Leave a Reply

