Skip to content

Thinking Spring

March 10, 2011

No, winter isn’t over. In fact, we’re at that gross time of the year where all the snowbanks are covered in mud and sand. And I’m still obsessed with cowls because they’re so cozy.

Nonetheless, I spent some time on Monday plotting out my spring knitting when I should have been doing just about anything else. None of these projects are new–I simply dug through my ravelry queue and looked for spring projects that I still wanted to make. They divide nicely into four categories.

1) Must Make Now
The projects that I’ve already purchased yarn for and will cast on any moment now.

Millefiori Cardigan

I’ve had my eye on this one since it was first published in the Spring 2009 issue of IK. I’m going to make it in pale green Sublime Baby Cashmere Merino Silk 4 ply (just picked up a few skeins this afternoon). Hopefully it will be done in time for the defense of my M.A. comprehensive exams, as I would like to wear a new handknit to it.

Saroyan

Saroyan will be my birthday present to myself (I’m turning the big 2-5!). I picked out a unique colorway of Three Irish Girls Adorn Sock. It’s a fingering weight and the pattern calls for worsted, so I’ll have to see what others have done for modifications.

2) The Cardigans
I have very few pullovers in my queue to begin with, but I think that spring is the perfect season for cardis! Unless I go on some sort of crazy cardigan knitting binge, I have absolutely no intention of knitting all of these, but I’d love to have each of them in my wardrobe. Cardigans are a particularly wise knit for me since my teaching attire normally consists of a pencil skirt, blouse, and cardi.

Audrey in Unst
Wallis Cardigan
Que Sera
Roheline

3) The Shawls
Spring might be coming, but I can certainly still use a shawl around my shoulders. These two seem to have a touch of spring to them.

 

Aestlight Shawl

Bitterroot

4) The Socks
I’m always knitting socks, so why would this season be any different? These two patterns feel a little more like spring to me.

 

Spring Forward

Breeze

That’s it for my list (subject to change, of course). What are you making for the upcoming spring?

Leave a Reply

