Skip to content

Comforts

April 10, 2011

Sweetie’s Valentine Slippers took forever to dry, but now they’re finished and on his feet.

Slippers

I made these for him because he broke his last slippers after many years of loving use. The entire sole was only hanging on on one side, and he was still trying to scuff around in them. I’m interested to see how long it takes him to wear through these–the next pair may need suede soles.

Pattern: Fiber Trends Felted Clogs (AC-33)
Yarn: Cascade 220: 2 sk. #9465, 1 sk. #8012
Needles: US 13 Denise interchangeables
Made for: Sweetie
Timeline: February 2-March 18, 2011 (knitting finished 2/16)
Modifications: None
Worst Part: waiting to felt. I can’t wait until I have my own washing machine.
Best Part: Sweetie has cozy feet.

Katie brought me a wonderful surprise last week: a spring care package!

Pattern: French Press Felted Slippers by Melynda Bernardi

Yarn: 1.26 skeins Cascade 220 #8834
Needles: US 15 bamboo
Made for: Me
Timeline: March 15-27, 2011
Modifications: None
Worst Part: Seaming and felting
Best Part:

She included little notebooks, pencils, yarn, chocolate, and handmade mitts which have already been studying with me.

I spent yesterday morning in Canal Park, re-reading Kate Chopin’s The Awakening and transferring my notes from one edition to the other, which I’ll be able to have with me in the exam. It feels like there aren’t enough hours in the day to complete all of my studying, but I’m also looking forward to being done with this part of my M.A., so I don’t think I would want any more time before beginning my written exams on Friday.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jes permalink
    April 10, 2011 2:00 pm

    Hi Mrs. Read,
    I’m glad to hear you still have time for your knitting, even in the midst of comps–that means you’re keeping your sanity, and that’s just half the battle!

    When I saw the picture of “Sweetie”‘s slippers, I had to smile. That’s my go-to pattern for last minute family presents. I’ve been working through the lineup each year. I’m curious, though, about where you can get suede soles. I’ve worn through my soles but don’t want to knit a new pair–any tips for where to look?

    Also, is The Awakening your primary text? Now I’m super curious and want to see your reading list. If you get a free second, would you be willing to email it over so I can take a peak?

    Good luck with the test and all of your knitting projects!

    –Jes

    • redknitter permalink
      April 12, 2011 1:07 pm

      We sell the suede soles made by Fiber Trends at the shop. They’re a pretty big company, so you could probably find them stocked near you or at an online retailer. I’m considering this pair a test pair to see if he needs the serious soles next time around, but he’ll definitely get them if our next place has wood floors.

Leave a Reply

