Skip to content

ALL the Socks!

April 19, 2011

Last week, I finished two pairs of knit along socks that had been lingering for a bit too long. First was In and Out for the Knit.Sock.Love knit along.

I love the way these socks turned out. The colorway is great, and I was able to take this photo of them with one of Sweetie’s art pieces during their Open Studio event on Saturday (do not touch the art!).

Pattern: Cookie A’s In and Out from Knit.Sock.Love
Yarn: Araucanía Ranco #124
Needles: US 0 dpns. Started with flexible plastic and switched to metal Hiya Hiyas
Made for: Me
Timeline: February 20-April 8, 2011
Modifications: None
Worst Part: Not finishing them by the KAL deadline
Best Part: I love the mirror image design

Next is the pair of socks that I’ve been dying to get off the needles almost since I started them. They’re for Skacel’s six month Trekking knit along. The pattern works well for the long color repeats of the yarn, but I think it’s much too close to the infamous Jaywalker socks.

I also can’t believe how unattractively this skein pooled on the sole of the foot. Fortunately, I have someone in mind who would be perfect for these socks.

Pattern: Knitpurlhunter’s Stripes Alive March KAL
Yarn: Trekking XXL #415
Needles: US 1 dpns
Made for: The gift basket
Timeline: March 13-April 15, 2011
Modifications: None
Worst Part: I think I’ve said it all
Best Part: The garter short row heel–I love that I don’t have to pick up the wraps

Yesterday, I finished the written portion of my Comprehensive Exams. I have an oral defense on Friday and then I’m done with this part of my program. A fellow grad student and I engaged in some yarn therapy over the weekend, and we may have gone a bit overboard…

Like the title of this post says, I want to knit ALL the socks! All four of these skeins are slated for upcoming projects including this month’s knit slings for the same groups and the socks from my Spring! knit list.

In other exciting news, this is my first post using the Blogsy app on my new iPad, which was an early birthday present. I just love it so far!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ladykay permalink
    April 19, 2011 8:56 pm

    ALL the socks? Will you share some socks when it’s time for me to learn? Please?

Trackbacks

  1. Socktoberfest? Maybe. | Red Knits
  2. Spring Forward | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

