Skip to content

Covet Wednesdays: Manu Cardigan

May 4, 2011
tags: ,

Now that the semester is drawing to a close*, it’s time to start thinking about samples for the knitting classes that I’m teaching this summer (see Yarn Harbor’s site for a complete list of offerings). I set up my class list a long time ago since I knew that I wouldn’t have time to plan them properly in the midst of exams. I’ve already got several class samples finished, including both samples for May classes, but I need to get going on my sample of the Manu Cardigan for June.

You may recall that I already have a Manu Cardigan in progress, but that one is for my sister-in-law and will go straight to her once it’s finished instead of being a shop sample.

As I always do before starting a major project (especially one that I’ll be teaching), I prowled around all of the Manu projects on Ravelry to get an idea of what choices I might make, what problems I might run into, and what aspects of the pattern might require clarification.

I’m seriously considering making my Manu with 3/4 sleeves like AnnasusLn’s and Martinaa’s and kristenmakes’. I almost always push up my sleeves anyway, so I may as well save myself some knitting time and increase wearability. Normally I don’t make such drastic modifications to class samples, but I’ll be able to share photos of the original, unmodified Manu that I’m knitting for my SIL.

I’ve also been thinking a lot about yarn choice. I had originally planned on using Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool, but I think I’ll do some more looking around the shop before I commit to it. Brown Sheep Sportweight would be another good option–it would be less expensive, but we don’t have sweater quantities of as many colors in stock. I can’t make up my mind regarding color, either. Should I go bright and fun like Stacey’s, deep and sophisticated like shutterhoney’s, or imitate Lily’s showstopper? I would love to hear what you think!

*For anyone interested, my exams are finished, and I just have typical end-of-semester stuff to deal with before graduation. Grading and working on my seminar paper seem so much more manageable now that exams are out of the way!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

