Skip to content

Covet Wednesdays: Swift

May 18, 2011

I’ve had a fantastic ball winder for along time now, but my parents surprised me with a swift to go with it as a graduation gift!

I’m thrilled! So thrilled, in fact, that I cleared off my sewing table (which had been covered in library books and student papers) to make room for my new setup.

Now I can wind yarn any time and tuck away the swift when I want to pull the sewing machine forward.

Know what’s amazing about this crafting table? The only thing that I bought is the table itself (wait, maybe mom bought that, too…). I won my sewing machine from a local Viking dealer when I won a county 4-H sewing contest around 7th grade, I won my serger When I took 2nd place at National Make It with Wool Contest, the ball winder was a wedding gift from my coworkers at the LYS, and now my parents have given me a swift. What wonderful support of my crafting, right?

Graduation was wonderful, and I am so happy to have completed my Master’s degree. Two knitting Katies were there with me:

And my mom made a fantastic cake for our reception. How many errors can you spot?

All in all, a wonderful evening. I’ll miss all of the friends that have been in the program with me, but I’m happy to be done.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 11:55 am

    Yaaay knitting Katies! Pretty sure the picture of you with the Bulldog is my favorite. šŸ™‚

  2. kateohkatie permalink
    May 27, 2011 3:50 pm

    Congratulations! That cake is awesome, too. You should submit it to Cake Wrecks as a “Sunday Sweet” (ie, awesome, totally non-sucky cake). Your mom rocks!

Leave a Reply

