Skip to content

In Summation

May 22, 2011

I was hoping to post more this week, but it ended up being a little busier than I thought it would be. Let’s take a look back on the week.

I spent the beginning of the week test knitting Rumpled for the new Socktopus book.

I wanted to use a very different yarn from what had been included in the original kit, so I chose a saturated colorway of Malabrigo Sock. The color in the photo above is nowhere near accurate–hopefully I’ll be able to capture it better when the pair is complete.

After teaching on Wednesday, Sweetie helped me settle on a color for my Manu cardigan:

This should set me up for a nice, versatile classic. I have a feeling that the buttons will be another big decision…

I also started another pair of French Press Felted Slippers, this time for my sister with a great match of yarn and buttons:

I had trouble with the seaming on the first pair I made, so I’m hoping to find another method that isn’t bulky but will hold together while felting. It looks like I’ve already got a good crowd for this class!

I had hoped to felt these slippers while visiting my parents, but there simply wasn’t enough time! I went to late night swing on Thursday, grabbed lunch and went shopping with my sister on Friday, hit downtown Stillwater (including Darn.Knit.Anyway), went dancing at Lee’s Liquor Lounge, and got back to Duluth very very late.

Yesterday I got back to work on my SIL’s Manu, and this morning I worked the pleats:

That’s quite a few needles to juggle, but they turned out nice. Hopefully the sweater will be finished and blocking very soon.

It was a bit of a whirlwind this week, and I haven’t even mentioned going back to work, submitting final grades, and starting to teach knitting classes again. Here’s hoping that I have lots of time to knit and recover my apartment next week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

