Skip to content

One of Those…

June 20, 2011

The week before last was pretty crazy. I spent the week substituting for one of my managers with very little training. All went fairly well, but I was exhausted by the end of the week. I was excited to head to the other corner of the state with Sweetie on Saturday to see my friends get married and have our first real, grown-up vacation.

Unfortunately, we hit a kamikaze deer in the St. Paul area. We’re thankful that both of us walked away unharmed and that we had many kind strangers and family members to help us out, but the car didn’t fare so well. I didn’t even realize what was going on until the windshield broke and there was glass everywhere, and when we got out we saw lots of superficial damage to the driver’s side. We’ll find out soon if the car is repairable, and we hope it is since it has been such a wonderful car for us.

Now that you know we’re okay, I know what you’re wondering–what happened to the knitting??

Luckily, I adopted the ziploc bag organizational system (patent pending) for my projects in the fall and most of what I had along was safe in the bags. The project that was in my lap, the Rumpled socks, was covered in fine shards of windshield glass, and I wasn’t sure if it would be salvageable. My mom worked her magic with the vacuum cleaner and was able to get all of the glass out, so I finished the pair last week.

Since we stayed at my parents’ instead of a hotel for the weekend, I was also able to make great progress on my French Press felted slippers. I finished the knitting and seaming:

and felted the pieces. They’re dry now, and I would like to assemble them before the class that I teach on Wednesday evening.

Let’s return to our regularly scheduled UFO Mondays now, shall we?

This week’s project is the Cabled Cowl

Last seen: December…2009! Holy buckets!

Reason for abandonment: I’m not sure, but I bet it had something to do with holiday knitting.

Assessment: I now have another two skeins of Blue Sky Alpacas, so there’s no reason why I can’t knit the remaining repeats.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

