Skip to content

Covet Wednesdays: Beignet Skirt by Colette Patterns

July 13, 2011

There’s something about hot summer days that makes me turn to sewing. I’m guessing it’s because that’s when I did most of my sewing when I was growing up in order to prepare for the 4-H competitions. Lately, I’m thinking a lot about skirt and dress patterns.

Beignet

I’ve seen so many lovely versions of the Beignet skirt by Colette Patterns that I would just love to make one for myself. I’d like to make a version in a deep navy (although not in denim so that it isn’t too casual) and then, if I could stand another round of buttonholes, another version in a bright color.

My primary sewing project right now (aside from my stripe top UFO) is another pattern by Colette: the Ginger skirt.

Ginger Fabric

I first became interested in this pattern after seeing the sewalong on A Fashionable Stitch, and I’ve been working away at view 1 for a little while now. The piping and invisible zipper really slowed me down, but I’m happy with how the skirt is looking so far.

Despite completing some advanced sewing projects when I was competing, I’m feeling the need to return to easier projects so that I can focus on taking my time to do things right even when I don’t have my expert mom by my side.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

