Skip to content

For the Weekend

August 13, 2011

Hooray for the weekend! Even though I’m working both days, I’m still happy that the regular work week is over. Last night I had a chance to grab a drink with a friend and listen to some great jazz by musicians that were in town for the Bayfront Blues Festival. I needed a good project to bring along, so I pulled out my in-progress Saroyan shawl.

I originally picked out this project as a birthday gift to myself, but my Comprehensive Exams got in the way of completing it in time for my birthday. That’s fine by me, because now I get to enjoy a great pattern in Three Irish Girls yarn on my Addi Lace needles!

The pattern is written for worsted weight yarn, but I found a colorway that I love in a fingering, so I’m sort of winging the directions. I think I’ve increased to my desired width now–it’s about 7″ wide.

I was recently lucky enough to try out Yarn U, one of the few iPad apps out there that is specifically devoted to knitters and crocheters.

Yarn U provides comprehensive information on many prominent yarn lines, and it looks like the database is growing quickly. Each yarn has a nice description followed by the important details as well as beautiful photos and project suggestions. Links are provided for the yarn and projects, so you can hop over to your browser and go directly to the webpage.

I think that this app would be best used as an on-the-go tool. If you’re like me and have a wifi rather than a 3G iPad model, you don’t always have access to sites like Ravelry and Yarndex. Yarn U fills in this gap so that you have the information that you need with you wherever you’re planning your next project. This app is also compatible with iPhone/iPod touch, making it even more portable.

While I don’t think that this app will replace the many fantastic websites out there, I do think that it will complement them and serve as another great resource for knitters and crocheters.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

