Skip to content

The Perfect Mittens

August 20, 2011
tags: ,

I think I’ve found them, folks. The perfect mittens.

I’ve already mentioned how great I think this pattern is. I chose it for the beginning mitten class that I’m teaching this fall because it’s a standard, no-nonsense pattern with a great range of sizes by a regional designer. This pattern looked good on paper and lived up to expectations in the finished project.

What I don’t think I’ve mentioned is that Peace Fleece Worsted may very well be the perfect mitten yarn. It’s a very warm wool, and I think the remaining lanolin in the yarn will help to break the wind during our cold Duluth winters.

This particular pair is a shop sample, but there will surely be more pairs to come. First up will likely be Sweetie, as he has requested some mittens that can double as chopper liners.

Pattern: Warm Woolly Mittens (#51) by Theresa Gaffey
Yarn: .7 skein Peace Fleece Worsted in Sheplova Mushroom
Needles: US dpns (I went down a size so that the mittens didn’t turn out to be huge)
Made for: Class Sample
Timeline: July 27-August 6, 2011
Modifications: minor changes to directions. She writes “next row” when I believe she means “last row.”
Worst Part: Having to start over with a smaller needle size.
Best Part: See above 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. northernnarratives permalink
    August 21, 2011 12:04 pm

    Hi. Nice to meet another Duluth knitter! Judy

Leave a Reply

