Skip to content

Swatching

September 17, 2011

I spent a good part of my knitting time last Sunday swatching away for upcoming sweaters.

The first is for the Wallis cardigan, which I mentioned in my springtime knitting list. When I found out about all of my new teaching jobs, I wanted to celebrate by casting on for a teacher garment, so I asked one of my dear knitting friends for help deciding which one to knit first, and she helped me choose this one.

I’m not taking any chances with this cardigan–I rarely wash my swatches, but I certainly washed this one to make sure that it doesn’t grow like the cardigan that I made out of sugarcane yarn.

The second is for a sweater that I started on a whim. When I was relaxing last Saturday, I suddenly realized that I have weekends now, and I felt an absolute need to make a cozy weekend sweater. I dug through some of my knitting books and came across this sweater, which I’ve had earmarked since I purchased Weekend Knitting years ago. It should be the perfect sweater to throw on when I’m hanging around the house, and I’m hoping to be able to finish it quickly so that I can wear it!

I also received a great new teacher care package this week. The Three Irish Girls McClellan Fingering is gorgeous, and I was laughing out loud at the WTF eraser!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 18, 2011 9:05 am

    After reading papers last year, I realized that it was sillier NOT to have a WTF eraser. 🙂 Hope the yarn helps make something super squishy and fun!

Leave a Reply

