Skip to content

Camp/Tap/Climb Out Mitts

January 4, 2012

I discovered the pattern for these cute mitts several months ago, but I didn’t put it in my ravelry queue for  fear that Katie would see them and cast on for them herself. They’re just so completely “her” that I knew she had to have them. When we decided to do a little tap dancing this afternoon, I pushed them up in my mental queue. Once I cast on, it only took a few TV episodes to finish them off. 

I like how they turned out, and it’s always nice to have a quick gift knit in mind, but if I were to make them again I would probably change something about the thumb, as it looks unfinished to me. Of course, that’s hard to see in the photos I’ve got because we had a hard enough time fighting with the lighting and the point-and-shoot camera.

Katie loved them and wore them all the way through our tap session, which included a very fast version of the Shim Sham Shimmy. I sat that one out.

Pattern: tante ehm’s Camp Out Fingerless Mitts
Yarn: just under 1 skein Noro Kureyon #259
Needles: US 7 birch dpns
Made for: Katie
Timeline: 3-4 January 2012
Modifications: none
Worst Part: the look of the thumbs
Best Part: quick, cute mitts

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 5, 2012 3:13 pm

    I actually really like the thumbs the way they are- you’re right that they don’t look quite finished, but having my thumbs completely free for function’s sake is nice!
    And I’m pretty sure they’ve only left my hands so far for sleeping last night… then right back on… 🙂

Leave a Reply

