Skip to content

Some Mittens

February 18, 2012

 It took a decent snowfall yesterday (which has since melted, by the way) as well as some threats of taking them away and leaving him with cold hands to get Sweetie out for a photo shoot of his new Borough mittens.

I had been planning on making him a pair of mittens for a while, and when I saw this design in Knitty, I knew that he would love them. I picked out some yarn and started knitting on the sly.

 Then he started talking about asking for new mittens from his parents for Christmas, so I had to show him what I was working on.

I finished these off with some great owl buttons–Sweetie has really liked the look of owls lately, so I thought these would be a nice touch.

Pattern: Borough Mittens by Veronica O’Neil in Knitty Winter bis 2011
Yarn: 1 sk Peace Fleece Worsted in Patience Blue
Needles: US 8 dpns
Made for: Sweetie
Timeline: January 8-25, 2012
Modifications: didn’t add button on palm
Worst Part: I don’t love how they look when they’re closed
Best Part: keeping the Mister’s hands warm

Speaking of mittens, I should also share some that I knit for my MIL. I knit her some traditional Norwegian mittens a few years ago, and we noticed that she had worn them so much that they were felted and pilled. It was time for a new pair.

I don’t have a photo of both mittens together because I only gave her one at Christmas! The other one was finished later and needs to be sent to her.

I chose the Labrador Diamonds pattern, as Sweetie’s family used to breed Labradors, and, after losing their two beloved dogs last year, his parents recently got a puppy.

Pattern: Labrador Diamonds Mittens by Robin Hansen in Favorite Mittens
Yarn: Jårbo Garn Raggi, 1 sk each 1511 & 1500
Needles: US 3 Bryflex dpns
Made for: MIL
Timeline: 23 December 2011 – 3 February 2012
Modifications: none
Worst Part: not finishing the pair in time
Best Part: knowing these mittens will be very well-loved

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Faye permalink
    April 3, 2012 6:35 pm

    I have been looking for a pattern for the red diamond patterned mittens for the longest time, my mother-in-law knit this pattern for me years ago, but at 98 years of age she no longer knits and cannot remember the pattern, if you are able to email me this pattern i would be so grateful.

    • redknitter permalink
      April 4, 2012 4:16 pm

      Hi, Faye.

      This pattern is still protected under copyright, so I’m not able to email it to you. However, the book where I found it, Favorite Mittens by Robin Hansen, is still in print. You may even be able to find it at your local library–it’s a classic.

Leave a Reply

