Skip to content

Conferencing

April 8, 2012

I spent part of last week at a conference for graduate students and instructors of college English and writing. I had been looking forward to this event all year, and it didn’t disappoint. It was even better because Sweetie was able to join me–he chauffeured me around, visited lots of important people and places, and joined me for dinners and exploring Minneapolis.

I’m finished teaching at noon on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays this semester, so we were able to travel during daylight. This allowed me to work on my Aestlight shawl, which I’ll be using as a sample for a class I’m teaching next month. I’ve made more progress on it this week, and I started working the edging this morning.


Once we checked into our hotel, we decided to explore the area around the U of M campus. We spent some time in a beautiful used book store and had dinner at the Loring Pasta Bar. I’ve been meaning to go there for years, and I still want to go back for an evening of salsa dancing.

The conference began the next morning, and I came prepared with conference-appropriate knitting. This year’s project was Skacel’s “What’s Your Point” scarf in Plymouth Yarn’s Sausalito. My mom has been working on the same scarf to go with her entry for Make It With Wool Contest (and she’s doing an amazing job!), and we wanted to make sure that her center graft from a pattern modification would work well. I figured that making my own version of the scarf would be the best way to ensure that hers went well, and I was able to finish nearly half of it during the conference.

The first day of the conference was full of panels, an excellent keynote, and KB’s first conference presentation. After my day was done, Sweetie and I dropped some art off at the university and then had dinner with friends at Galactic Pizza followed by my first beer with my little sister, who turned 21 in February, at the Town Hall. That was more than a little odd, first because she’s my younger sister, and second because she still looks like she’s about 12 years old.

The final day of the conference went by very quickly. I presented as part of a panel about teaching careers with graduate degrees in English, and we had a nice turnout of current and recent graduate students. This panel was the kind of thing that I would have loved to attend when I was in graduate school, so I was really happy to be a part of it. I also attended an excellent panel on teaching developmental writers–I wish it had gone on for another hour or two! The day wrapped up with a planning committee meeting and a lively dinner. Oh, and a dip in my parents’ hot tub 🙂

I cast on for the Owlie Cowl on the drive home, but I didn’t get much accomplished in the dark with a malfunctioning book light. I’ve made more progress since then.

I’m making this cowl for a friend in return for a photo shoot of Sweetie and I that she did. We’re so happy with the photos that she took, and I hope that this cowl turns  out nice.

All in all, an excellent trip and a nice break from the daily teaching & grading grind. I came back invigorated, refreshed, and ready for the last month of the semester.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    April 9, 2012 7:55 pm

    I feel a smack-down coming…pink/purple scarf vs. green scarf…after grafting and blocking…let the people decide!

Leave a Reply

