Skip to content

A Ravellenic Dilemma

July 15, 2012

The Olympics and, more importantly, the Ravellenic Games are quickly approaching! I’ve participated in the past two rounds beginning when I first started working at the shop and Team Yarn Harbor came together for its first Games. I’ve always carefully considered my project to make sure it was challenging enough for me as well as doable with my lifestyle at the time: first was the Ivy League vest and next was Stilwell.

This round is even trickier than last time, when I was in my second semester of graduate school. The Opening Ceremonies begin at 3 pm my time on July 27th, and the Big Move to PA begins on the 28th. We’ll spend the weekend moving out of our place, cleaning up the apartment, and running old stuff to the dump and Goodwill. We’re then going to spend a week with my parents enjoying the Twin Cities before leaving on the long drive to Pittsburgh. I won’t be anything near settled in my new place until August 9th at the very earliest. Closing Ceremonies, the deadline for completing a project, is on the 12th.

On the one hand, I’ll have a lot of time in the car to work on my project. I’m also hoping to have some time to relax in the Twin Cities–Sweetie and I have been working all too much this summer, and we could really use some unscheduled time. On the other hand, there will be several days during the Olympics that will be eaten up by moving activities.

All this is to say that I’m having a difficult time finding something that’s challenging but still do-able in the time that I’ve got. I’ve narrowed it down to three, all sweaters:
UntitledMy first thought was to make Crane Creek from last fall’s Twist Collective. This one really appeals to me because of how well it suits my upcoming transition into a doctoral student, which is a lot like being an apprentice or junior colleague. I also love that this would look equally great with a pencil skirt and heels or jeans and flats. My biggest concern, though, is the finishing work. There isn’t a ton of it, but I still worry that it would be what prevents me from finishing in time.

When I dug through my queue some more, I came across the Monday Morning Cardigan from Cosmicpluto Knits. I’ve been meaning to make this cardigan for a while now, and I love the easy wearability and the great waist shaping–I can’t stand it when fitted sweaters don’t dip in at the waistline! This one has seamless construction, which would be great, but I wonder if it’s perhaps too simple for the challenge. Famous last words, I know 😉

The most recent Ravellenic Games contender is the Twist Pullover from the latest knit.wear magazine. The drape is beautiful, and I could throw it on with a t-shirt or a dress for an easy dressed up look. When I make this (if not for the games, then another time), I’m planning on lengthening the sleeves to somewhere around the elbow so that I can get more wear out of it. There’s a colorway of Malabrigo sock that’s been calling my name and would look just stunning in this. The fingering weight yarn means that this one would take some time, but I might want more excitement in the knitting if I’m going to work on it for long stretches in the car. Then again, I’ve been gravitating toward the mindless knitting lately.

So there you have it. Three potential projects, one indecisive knitter.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Charlotte Olson permalink
    July 15, 2012 8:25 pm

    Roughly 15 to 16 hours to Pittsburgh. Even if you don’t get it finished before you leave MN, you will have a little bit of time to do the finish work. (Ohio is about 3 1/2 hours of flat country, not much to look at). Love you!

  2. July 16, 2012 1:55 am

    Both the Monday Morning cardigan and Twist are in my cue. I think that Twist is really interesting, and that makes it more fun, but if I were knitting to a deadline, I’d go with Monday Morning. Good luck with your move and happy knitting!

  3. amy permalink
    July 16, 2012 8:58 pm

    Twist! Lots of st stitch but still a lot of style.

  4. Cameron Hubley permalink
    July 22, 2012 10:06 pm

    I’m having a really hard time picking one. I’ll try.

  5. Red's Mom permalink
    July 27, 2012 6:58 pm

    Wait, wait….you’ve already cast on? But I didn’t get a chance to vote yet…
    Sigh.

  6. Red's Mom permalink
    August 12, 2012 8:03 pm

    Team Dufus definitely won a gold medal in the cross-country moving event even if Team Knittany fell a little short of the finish line! Sending loads of love to Pittsburgh Red!

Leave a Reply

