Skip to content

LYS: Bloomin Yarns

September 17, 2012

Not long after moving to Pennsylvania, I had the pleasure of a visit from Amy, one of my favorite knitters from back home. She was out here on business and picked me up for an evening trip to Bloomin Yarns in McMurray, PA.

I was quite impressed with what this LYS was able to do with the small space that they have. Their selection was a wonderful mixture of luxurious boutique yarns from small companies and workhorse standbys. They also had lots of patterns from great indie designers and really beautiful accessories (if only I was in need of a shawl pin…). There was a group of knitters chatting away in the back of the shop while we visited, which makes me confident that this shop is a welcoming and friendly place to spend some time.

Neither Amy nor I escaped empty-handed. I had mentioned that I was hoping for Madelinetosh, since it isn’t a line that my home LYS carries. I was in luck–Bloomin Yarns stocked several different Madelinetosh yarns.

Being the shawl and sock knitter that I am, I went for the fingering weight yarns and couldn’t resist this one because of both the colorway and its name: 

I’ve been all about the nearly brainless knitting lately, so I also snagged the Summer Wind cowl pattern.

I cast on during an English Graduate Organization meeting a couple of weeks ago, and this cowl is now my bus knitting. I’m loving knitting it, and I know it will feel luxurious when it’s done.

Much as I love my PhD program so far, I do have this to say: PhD school really does cut into one’s knitting time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

