Skip to content

Royal Ruffles

March 30, 2013

I kind of love Princess Catherine. Really, what's not to like? She's gorgeous, has great style, and (at least from what the American media tells me) seems to be a genuinely lovely person. So when I saw a pattern pop up on Ravelry for a knockoff of her shawl, I was all over that.

It's one of the bigger shawls that I've made, and I love being able to curl up in it. And the yarn couldn't be more luxurious (well–qiviut–but let's set that aside for the time being). I absolutely love knitting with and wearing Fresco because it feels so perfect.

I really didn't intend to rip off the color as well as the style of this shawl, but I didn't yet have one in this color, and we had enough of this colorway in stock at the time that I was really feeling the need to cast on. I'm a CopyKat: there, I said it.

Pattern: CopyKat Shawls by Rose Beck
Yarn: 5 skeins Classic Elite Fresco #5376
Needles: US 5
Made for: me
Timeline: 1 June – 12 July 2012
Modifications: none
Worst Part: picking up for and knitting the ruffle–so many stitches!
Best Part: the yarn and knitting on this during a Wilco concert (thanks, Kathy!)

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Red's Mom permalink
    March 30, 2013 7:57 pm

    Every royal (or royal wannabe) needs an adorable and cozy shawl to keep those pesky goosebumps at bay while enjoying Berkey ice cream…very savvy wardrobe choice!

Leave a Reply

