Skip to content

A Nautical Sorbetto

June 11, 2013
tags:

Well, hello there! Welcome to my little deck! It's not much, but it's certainly cozier now that we've put in some plants both on the table and in a window planter. Better than the dirt and weeds that my landlord had there when I moved in!

I'm out here enjoying my newly finished Sorbetto top made out of a nautical print poplin from JoAnn's. It was a quick and easy make, although I didn't make it up nearly as quickly as some others have. Like I've said before, I am a snail-paced seamstress!

Part of that may have been the finishing I did. I used French seams throughout and slip stitched the bias tape rather than using the machine. I prefer the look of both.

Red lipstick seemed like the right choice for these photos, but it makes me act a little crazy in front of the camera.

I thought about making a muslin and didn't bother since it was such a simple top. Now that it's finished, I wish I had. It's certainly wearable, but the fit isn't as comfortable as I would like. If I make it again, I'll definitely do some alterations on the upper front, and I'd like to try adding sleeves.

This makes for another work-appropriate summer garment: the print is certainly playful, but it's not a t-shirt. In fact, I'm wearing this top today with black pants and a red cardi.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2013 3:09 pm

    I love it! This is such a great take on the Sorbetto. I’m yet to make one, but now i’m thinking it’ll be nautical!

    • redknitter permalink
      June 12, 2013 1:21 pm

      Thanks so much! This pattern is so simple that it really is an empty palette.

Trackbacks

  1. Me-Made-May ’14: Final Update and Reflections | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

