Skip to content

Stripe Study in Mulberry and Mogit

June 17, 2013

I (somewhat) recently finished the huge shawl that I began knitting on my trip to Louisville. It really is huge, probably the biggest shawl I've made so far, but it was supposed to be even bigger. I bought the yarn based on the Ravelry information because I didn't have the complete pattern yet, so I took a guess and bought even amounts of each color. At some point in the last row of purple that you see up there, I realized that I wouldn't have enough of the color to knit the full 12 stripes. Oh, well. It's still big enough to wrap up in.

I really have my friend KG to thank for this project–I wouldn't have taken another look and noticed the interesting asymmetry without her. Once I was sold on the pattern, I knew it would be perfect for showcasing Jamieson Shetland Spindrift, a yarn that's typically used for stranded colorwork. The monotony of garter stitch is the opposite of colorwork, but the yarn does lend this shawl a cozy, rustic feel. It will be exactly what I need while reading and writing this fall and winter.

Pattern: Stripe Study Shawl by Veera Välimäki

Yarn: Jamieson Shetland Spindrift, 3 sk 107 Mogit and 4 sk 598 Mulberry

Needles: US 5(?) Addi Lace

Made for: my sanity this semester

Timeline: 20 February – 30 April 2013

Modifications: minus one stripe

Worst Part: the boring miles of garter stitch

Best Part: the relaxingly simple miles of garter stitch

Thanks to an obligation-free weekend and way too much Netflix, my red pants are now to the point of adjusting the fit. I don't have a photo of their current state and may have to set them aside for a few days, so this picture of my successful fly insertion will have to do.

Yay!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

