Skip to content

Stuck in Color

June 20, 2013
tags:

Do you ever find yourself working on several craft projects that are all the same color? Not in an intentional way like for a seasonal wardrobe or something–just a bunch of projects that happen to match each other. I find myself doing this all the time. It happens easily with blue and purple since those are colors that I like to wear, but right now it's red and green.

Of course, you already know about my red pants, which are waiting for me to make some upper thigh alterations. And I've also picked up my red Dancing Cranes shawl UFO, which apparently I never photographed, for some nearly mindless bedtime knitting.

One of my green projects is the Amiga cardigan, to which I add a few rows every time I take the bus. The other is the yet-unblogged pair of Sake socks from Cookie A's second book, Knit. Sock. Love. I started these socks a long time ago as part of a KAL and never got past the cuff. I then picked them up again on my birthday, and they felt like a brand new project!

This Instagram shot (I love filters, and I don't care who knows it!) gives you an idea of how insane these charts are–a full, maybe 10″x10″, page for just the leg of the sock. As I'm sure you can imagine, a pattern that requires this much attention doesn't work in just any mood. I needed to work out some frustrations last weekend, and this was just the project to do that.

I now have one finished sock, but I haven't worked up the courage to cast on the second. Maybe this weekend…

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 20, 2013 7:17 pm

    Goodness gracious, I love this! The stitch definition with this yarn is beautiful. Complex charts are worth it if the finished product is this lovely!

Leave a Reply

