Skip to content

Perseverance in Dress Form

July 15, 2013

As I mentioned in my last post, my denim dress (Butterick 5599) is done! And thanks to the timer feature in the Camera Awesome iPad app, I've got some modeled photos to share! I'm still figuring out this whole timer thing, and there aren't many places to prop up my iPad on the deck, so sorry about the funny angles.

Even if I had my Chief Photographer here, I still think it would be difficult to get modeled photos to show off the many details in this dress–the dark denim I used just doesn't play nice with the camera. I decided to get some table shots to show off all of my hard work. Warning: lots of photos ahead!

The inside of the dress before installing the zipper. Each seam was edgestitched, trimmed, pinked, and notched so that it would lay nice and flat. The bodice is fully enclosed by the lining, so I only did seam finishes on the skirt.

There were lots of angled pieces that had to be aligned perfectly.

And the seams are topstitched on either side. I used my edgestitching foot, a longer stitch length, and two strands of thread.

The skirt front is pleated and has pockets.

The back closes with an invisible zipper. I basted carefully and thoroughly to get everything to line up across the zipper. It's secured with a hook and eye at the top. I'm starting to feel pretty good about invisible zippers. A lot of patterns are using them these days, so I've gotten lots of practice.

The halter ties are gathered. Not sure why, but I guess it looks kinda cute.

The lining has just as many crazy pieces as does the outer shell. I lined my dress in a rayon challis because I like the way it feels against the skin, and I'm a sucker for dots. I should say that I got all of the supplies for this project (besides my spare spool of thread) at Hancock Fabrics. Just about everything was on sale or discounted with a coupon.

Both the lining and outer hems are turned and topstitched. The seams of the skirt are serged.

All in all, I'm pretty darn proud of this project. It just feels well made, you know? My only complaint, besides the ungodly amount of time I spent on a casual summer dress, is that the top of the bust gapes a bit. Not enough to show more than I want to, but it does bug me a little.

Mostly I'm just happy to have this one done. Oh, and if you're wondering about that broken pot in the background? You can ask the family of raccoons that scared the shit out of me one morning. They have since moved on.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Charlotte Olson permalink
    July 20, 2013 6:19 am

    I LOVE this dress, and especially how you look in it. I hope your next place has as great of a sewing area as this one has. Sorry we couldn’t spend more time when we stopped in.

    • redknitter permalink
      July 22, 2013 7:43 am

      Thanks! The new place is pretty much a blank slate, so I’m hoping to put together a sewing space that allows me to sew as much as I have been lately.

      And I was just happy to see you! Hope you had a wonderful time with the grandbabies!

Trackbacks

  1. Me-Made-May ’14 Week 3 Update | Red Knits

Leave a Reply

