Skip to content

A Sunny UFO

July 26, 2013

As I mentioned in my last post, I decided at the last minute to  jet off to the Virginia Beach Lindy Exchange for a weekend of dancing and sunshine. It was a much smaller exchange than I’m used to, but it did give me the chance to dance in some places that I’ve definitely never danced before, including a WWII battleship:
USS WisconsinThat’s not all of us–it was small, but not that small! It was really nice to have a solid weekend of dancing. I’ve been trying to improve a few things about my dancing, and all of those hours on the dance floor allowed me to focus on them more thoroughly than I would be able to in my regular dance life. I’m also super happy that I didn’t come back completely sunburned–yay, SPF 50!

I had some downtime during the day (Our host asked us what we did on Friday after getting in super late on Thursday night. “Well, we had lunch…”). I thought this would be the perfect time to resurrect my Skew socks in a bright colorway that matched the umbrellas on Virginia Beach.
UntitledLast seen: June 2010 (good lord, I need to keep chipping away at these UFOs!)

Reason for abandonment:I ended up with the wrong number of stitches at the “origami moment.” Upon further inspection, this was because I didn’t actually complete the mid toe increases. It was a rookie mistake, and I should have known better.

Assessment: I ripped all the way back to the end of the mid toe section, completed it, and am now up to the inner ankle. I should be set up for the right number of stitches at the origami moment, but I won’t know for sure until I knit a little further. I’m just happy to be finished knitting with the kinked up yarn. This is one of many projects that will come along with me for my week in scenic State College, PA. I seem to think that I’ll be knitting all the projects and reading all the books next week.

If you have some spare good vibes, would you send them my way? I’m moving my stuff out of my old place and into a storage unit this weekend, and I really hope everything goes smoothly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2013 11:42 am

    I hope you had a lot of fun! Dancing on a battleships sounds like a BLAST. Totally would have pulled out my sailor outfit for that occasion. If you’re free in October, you should totally come down to our Cool Cat Corner workshop weekend here in Charlotte. I could definitely hook you up with housing. ^_^

    • redknitter permalink
      July 26, 2013 1:26 pm

      It was a ton of fun, especially since the wind made the heat bearable.

      I’ll definitely let you know if I can make it down to Charlotte. And you should let me know if you can come up for PittStop in November!

Leave a Reply

