Skip to content

Unattractive WIPs

July 30, 2013

I'm finished with Phase 1 of my move (out of the old apartment and into a storage unit), and I'm surprised to say that it went really smoothly. I had a fantastic (and efficient!) group of friends helping me move out, and they made everything so easy for me.

I won't be able to move into my new place until this coming weekend, so I'm spending this week in the always exciting State College, PA with Sweetie, our cats, and plenty of time to relax before I really have to gear up for fall semester. I must have been feeling the sewing machine withdrawal when I packed for this week because I packed way more knitting projects–some already in progress, some UFOs, and some new–than would be humanly possible to finish in my short trip.

So far I've been really good and kept working on projects I had already started. They'll be great when finished, but, as this post's title suggests, they're not so pretty on the needles.

I've been really into my Skew socks, and I can now say with confidence that I fixed my original dumb mistake. In fact, I finished the first of these socks last night after snapping this photos. I have a feeling that these socks would look kind of rough off the foot no matter what since they have such crazy construction, but they look especially bad here because about half the yarn has been knit multiple times. I'm hoping those crinkles will relax out when I wash these.

I've also worked on my Amiga cardigan, which has been a steady behind the scenes project around here. It's just not that exciting to blog about a stockinette sweater, you know? Anyway, the body is finished, and I'm almost done with the first sleeve. This yarn is also crinkly, but that's due to its thick and thin spin. As you can see, I'm totally letting the yarn pool however it wants. This is meant to be a casual sweater, so I'm fine with some variation.

Other than knitting, I've been napping, reading for fun (including Overdressed), eating ice cream, and spending a few hours each day on my research at Penn State's massive library. I wish this is what summer was like every week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

