Skip to content

Spring Forward

August 16, 2013

So…I have a huge pile of unphotographed, unblogged projects. I think I’ve mentioned that before. My productivity isn’t what it used to be when I worked at the LYS and didn’t have this PhD thing taking up a fair amount of my time, so I’m gonna go ahead and share them on the blog even if they are pretty old. Why not, right?
UntitledThese are the Spring Forward socks, a result of my 2011 Spring! knit list and KG’s and my yarn binge after I wrote my MA comprehensive exams, although I didn’t actually knit them until last fall.
UntitledThese photos aren’t doing the Three Irish Girls colorway any justice (although the second one is more accurate than the first)–it’s much prettier in person, and the Finley base is so nice to work with. I love having bright, soft, handknit socks to wear under my boots, which I wear pretty much nonstop in the fall and winter.

Pattern: Spring Forward by Linda Welch in the Summer 2008 issue of Knitty
Yarn: Three Irish Girls Finley Fingering in Ainsley
Needles: US 0 dpns
Made for: me
Timeline: 4-29 October 2012
Modifications: none
Worst Part: none
Best Part: the yarn colorway just makes me happy

In other news, there’s a lot of sewalong inspiration going on in the blogosphere right now! I’m definitely going to sew up a Negroni shirt for Sweetie as part of the Super Online Sewing Community Match–after all, I’ve been planning a shirt for him for a while now! The announcement for this round of the sewing match (and the discount!) was just the extra push I needed to finally download the pattern. But then Rochelle and Tasha announced their Fall for Cotton sewalong this morning. I’m hoping to make more vintage inspired garments to wear lindy hopping, so if I can find the time and the pattern, I may join in for this sewalong as well. Thank goodness I’ve unpacked my sewing machine and serger!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 17, 2013 8:11 pm

    Awesome colours and pattern. I also think it’s great that you’re sharing old projects.

Leave a Reply

