Skip to content

Chevron Dance Bag

September 7, 2013

UntitledNow that I’ve finished my chevron dance bag, I should be ready for ballet and tap classes to begin next week! You know, if you disregard the fact that I haven’t stepped foot in a dance studio for a couple of years and have never ever been flexible…

I’m constantly seeing posts and articles that stress the importance of regular exercise, but over the years I’ve realized that I’m just not interested in much beyond dance. I lindy hop as much as I can, but lindy hop is really rough on the joints. I wanted to find something to build up my strength so I can keep dancing for a long time. Luckily, my new neighborhood has a place that offers adult ballet and tap classes, and they start next week! I’ve done a little bit of ballet and tap before, but nothing crazy, so I’m admittedly both nervous and excited to get back into them.
UntitledThe idea for this dance bag has been in the works for a while now, as I knew I’d need something to lug my shoes and clothes around in when I got back to classes. I like to carry something a little prettier than your typical tote bag, and I was drawn to the gorgeous stitch pattern on this bag when I saw someone else’s project on ravelry. I love how the sturdy brioche moves into the rather complex lace pattern.
UntitledWhen I bought the yarn for this project last summer (as part of my “farewell, LYS employee discount!” spree), I remember having trouble finding a color I liked with enough yardage in stock. As it turns out, I didn’t need to worry. Once I got past the halfway point of this bag, I realized that I had way more yarn than I needed. It was also turning out a bit small, so I decided to add another two repeats of the main lace pattern for a finished bag of about 13″ x 16″ before the inevitable stretching that will occur once I really start using it. I also added some length to the strap, and I may back it in a woven fabric so that it doesn’t stretch like crazy with use.
UntitledOh, and a note to my dear friend and former dance teacher in case she’s reading: the pointe shoes are only props for these images. I promise I won’t use them until my ankles get strong again!

PatternChevron Market Bag by Kristen TenDyke in the Spring 2010 issue of Interweave Knits
Yarn: about 2.5 skeins of Cascade Ultra Pima
Needles: US 4 Susan Bates circulars
Made for: me
Timeline: 31 July – 2 September 2013
Modifications: added length
Worst Part: working with cotton is a little rough on my hands
Best Part: the stitch pattern

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2013 3:49 pm

    Ah yes, up until recently lindy was my primary form of exercise. In an attempt to build up my lungs and general endurance for the sake of dance, I joined my university’s quidditch team. Now I exist in a perpetual state of being sore, so I guess it’s working.

  2. September 9, 2013 7:49 am

    It turned out just marvelous. I now have the urge to come up with an activity that would require such a bag.

Leave a Reply

