Skip to content

Covet Wednesdays: Fall for Cotton

September 11, 2013

Even though it's well into September, I'm just now starting to plan my Fall for Cotton project so that I can pick up supplies with Sweetie this weekend. I don't have a ton of direction yet–all I know is that I want something that I can wear out lindy hopping, which means short sleeves and lighter fabric are best.

I've said before that I adore my local public library, and its collection came through for me again with this book of early 40s fashion taken from Sears catalogs. I spent some time exploring it over a Pumpkin Spice Latte, and here's what I'm liking so far:

I love the sleeves and stripes on the right, especially with the bias skirt.

The neck detail and the fabric choice for the dress on the left are so perfectly feminine.

If I could just make exactly that center dress, I'd be set! It's so flattering.

It's hard to go wrong with a shirtwaist, and the version with the dickie on the left is so sharp. The skirt pleats would add a little flair on the dance floor.

I adore this yoke detailing, and I've seen it on quite a few adorable dresses.

From what I've posted here, it certainly looks like I'll be making a dress, but it really comes down to what I can get at my local JoAnn's. Much as I'd love to sew up an original 1940s pattern, I just don't have the time to wait for one to ship, and I'm not willing to spend that kind of money when there's still fabric to buy. Hopefully the big box store will come through for me and I'll be able to share my decision next week. Stay tuned!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2013 8:05 pm

    I’m doing a 40s dress done up in cotton jersey. A KNIT. A comfy, cozy KNIT. I almost feel like I’m cheating. And omg I loooove those yoke pleats at the bottom. That one has my vote. If you come down to Cool Cat Corner, we should so have a Fall for Cotton picture together. 😀

    • redknitter permalink
      September 12, 2013 12:10 pm

      That would be the perfect photo op! But I doubt I’ll be able to make it down unless someone from Pittsburgh is going. I don’t have a car, and my Sweetie doesn’t dance 😦

Leave a Reply

