Skip to content

Turning the Heel on Sake

October 29, 2013
tags:

Sake heelI turned the heel on my second Sake sock at the yarn shop on Sunday, and I can’t help but think that this project is all downhill from here.

Generally speaking, I think heel turns are way over-hyped. They’re perhaps a little tricky if you, like me, try turning your very first heel without any guidance beyond the pattern (although even that turned out just fine), but once you get the hang of them, they’re really pretty simple.

This heel, however, is a little more challenging. See how the stitch pattern extends into the heel flap? That means that you have to work those twisted stitches on both the right and wrong sides, which is a bit of a mind bend. Luckily, it’s only for a few rows, and then you’re on to a foot with a stockinette bottom.

One gal at the shop asked me what size project I would consider these since they’re so intricate, and for me I think they’re sort of a medium size project. The twisted stitch pattern isn’t complicated if you’ve done that sort of thing before, so it’s really just taking it one round at a time. Really, the only reason these aren’t already finished is that I’ve mainly been working on them at the shop and focusing on sewing and the flamingos when I’m at home.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

