Skip to content

The Doctor Dances

November 29, 2013

I’m back to reality (well, kind of. Thanksgiving Break limbo-reality) after a fabulous weekend at PittStop Lindy Hop. I had an amazing time with one of my best friends from Minnesota as well as a dance friend from college–now living in Chicago–who I hadn’t seen in over five years!

One of the many highlights of the weekend was wearing my Feminine 10th Doctor outfit to the dance that took place on the same day as the 50th Anniversary episode (I still haven’t seen it and probably won’t for a bit, so no spoilers, please!). I don’t have the greatest photos of it, but I also know myself well enough that I won’t get around to taking proper photos anytime soon, so here they are.
PittStop 2013This is my friend and I in the balcony before the dance (fun fact: this is where they filmed some creepy scene from Silence of the Lambs), and you can kinda sorta see some of the details here. If you want to know more about patterns, fabric, and inspiration, check out this post. Really, the construction on this project wasn’t anything to write home about since the poor quality of the fabric means I’m unlikely to wear these pieces as anything but a costume. The construction just needed to be sturdy enough for dancing.
The Doctor DancesAnd there was plenty of that! Well, actually, there wasn’t nearly as much dancing as I had hoped thanks to a massive splinter in the meat of my foot shortly before this dance. I had to take it easy for the rest of the weekend, but I still got a few dances in and heard some amazing music.

I was a little worried that this outfit was so “inspired by” that it wouldn’t be recognized, but I got a lot of compliments on it throughout the night and even danced with another Doctor at one point! I think it was the Chuck Taylor shoes that really tipped people off–I wasn’t so sure about dancing in them, but they completed the look in a way that red Keds couldn’t have.

My favorite comment of the night: “Are you dressed like Doctor Who on purpose?” Yes. Yes, I am.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

